keyboard_backspace go back
about lip

Funded Projects / details

Artificial Intelligence for the European Open Science Cloud


Beneficiary Entity

LIP - Laboratório de Instrumentação e Física Experimental de Partículas

Project summary

The AI4EOSC (Artificial Intelligence for the European Open Science Cloud) delivers an enhanced set of advanced services for thedevelopment of Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML) and Deep Learning (DL) models and applications in the EuropeanOpen Science Cloud (EOSC). These services are bundled together into a comprehensive platform providing advanced features such asdistributed, federated and split learning; novel provenance metadata for AI/ML/DL models; event-driven data processing services orprovisioning of AI/ML/DL services based on serverless computing. The project builds on top of the DEEP-Hybrid-DataCloud outcomesand the EOSC compute platform and services in order to provide this specialized compute platform. Moreover, AI4EOSC offerscustomization components in order to provide tailor made deployments of the platform, adapting to the evolving user needs.The main outcomes of the AI4EOSC project will be a measurable increase of the number of advanced, high level, customizableservices available through the EOSC portal, serving as a catalyst for researchers, facilitating the collaboration, easing access to high-end pan-European resources and reducing the time to results; paired with concrete contributions to the EOSC exploitationperspective, creating a new channel to support the build-up of the EOSC Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning community ofpractice.

Support under

Reforçar a investigação, o desenvolvimento tecnológico e a inovação

Region of Intervention




Total eligible cost

€ 4,997,125.00

EU financial support

€ 4,997,125.00

Funding LIP

€ 350,250.00

National public financial support

€ 0.00










WP7 - Software and service quality, data FAIRnessOral presentation in collaboration meeting


José Miguel Viana Alves
Mário Jorge Moura David
Samuel Sousa Nascimento Bernardo
Zacarias José Miranda Benta